VW Rabbit Forum " 84' rabbit crank, no-start" Volkswagen Rabbit Owners Club
VolkswagenOwnersClub.com is the premier Volkswagen forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.Please Register - It's Free!
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: 84' rabbit crank, no-start

Junior Member sohcsleeper is a jewel in the rough sohcsleeper's Avatar
    Thanks

84' rabbit crank, no-start

1.8L rabbit top end
    2.0L jetta bottom end
    tdi tranny
    Everything is at tdc and ignition timing is spot-on. I'm getting spark to all four plugs, getting fuel to all four injectors. Cranks just fine. I have a full 12.6v at the battery. The only basic thing I haven't done so far is a compression test but timing is good so I should have compression. Is there anything I'm forgetting before I do a starter test, compression test, coil test? All the essential wiring seems to be in place for startup. I've heard this swap is fairly common and I'm new to the vw game but there seems to be something prohibiting it from firing no matter what. I've tried advancing and retarding the dizzy timing but it still cranks at the same normal speed with no hiccups. I can post pics and/or videos if need be.
    Thanks =]

2. Remove Advertisements
    VolkswagenOwnersClub.com
    Advertisements

Thanks

Re: 84' rabbit crank, no-start

update: made two new grounds from head to body and block to body in case the plugs were grounding themselves to the head instead of sparking, still nothing....if anyone has some input it would be very helpful, maybe a diagram of ignition timing if possible, right now i've been going off of this picture but its more about firing order than anything: http://volkswagenownersclub.com/vw/s...utor-cap-rotor
    however if timing was off slightly it should at least misfire. but im not getting any kind of misfire or anything, just a steady cranking