Diesel Fuel Additives
VolkswagenOwnersClub.com is the premier Volkswagen forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.Please Register - It's Free!
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Diesel Fuel Additives

Junior Member Marc Held is a jewel in the rough Marc Held's Avatar
    Thanks

Diesel Fuel Additives

Hi,

I was wondering if I should use a Diesel Fuel Additive on a regular basis to maintain my 2011 Jetta Sportwagen TDI. If not, what about during the winter? Are the modern ULSD Fuels delivered with anti-gelling mixtures in the winter?

Thanks for sharing!

Marc

2. Remove Advertisements
    VolkswagenOwnersClub.com
    Advertisements

New Member viciouscycle is a jewel in the rough viciouscycle's Avatar
    Thanks

Re: Diesel Fuel Additives

Marc, I am brand new to the TDI fold but I can share my research, which boils down to the diesel fuel sold in the US is of inferior quality and lacks the lubricity of European diesel. As a result, there appears to be a problem with the fuel pump going, which takes with it about $6,000 in other parts, for which it seems VW's response is to blame the problem on the fuel. Although it appears a snotty response knowing there is a problem, VW is probably also technically correct. This appears to be a non-existent problem in Canada where our diesel is made to European standards. My plan will be to carry a lubicating additive any time I travel in the States. My primary source of information was the TDICLUB.

Junior Member Marc Held is a jewel in the rough Marc Held's Avatar
    Thanks

Hi "Vicious"

Your research sounds extreme. Since I wrote this post, Ive put on 19,000 miles with no ill affects. The only development worth noting here is VW just issued a recall notice on the fuel lines. Apparently, vibration at certain RPMs causes premature wear. The solution is installing 4 vibration dampers around the lines.

If you have a link to your research on the TDICLUB, id be intrested in reviewing it.