QUESTION Fuel Pump Problem on 2004 Jetta 1.8T
VolkswagenOwnersClub.com is the premier Volkswagen forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.Please Register - It's Free!
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Fuel Pump Problem on 2004 Jetta 1.8T

New Member nojackinc is a jewel in the rough nojackinc's Avatar
    Thanks

Fuel Pump Problem on 2004 Jetta 1.8T

My engine was running a bit rough some times a little jerk when I got around 2,900 RPMS. I replaced the spark plugs in it and that seemed to have fixed the problem. Recently though, My engine occasionally cuts out, stops running, like it's out of gas. This lasts for a few seconds then the engine comes back on. I am thinking it is either a problem with the coil packs or the fuel pump. What is the likeliest problem? If it's the fuel pump is this something that I could do myself, I'm a student so I'm always trying to save a buck.

2. Remove Advertisements
    VolkswagenOwnersClub.com
    Advertisements

I'm broke
    nitroscope8 has a reputation beyond repute nitroscope8 has a reputation beyond repute nitroscope8 has a reputation beyond repute nitroscope8 has a reputation beyond repute nitroscope8 has a reputation beyond repute nitroscope8 has a reputation beyond repute nitroscope8 has a reputation beyond repute nitroscope8 has a reputation beyond repute nitroscope8 has a reputation beyond repute nitroscope8 has a reputation beyond repute nitroscope8 has a reputation beyond repute nitroscope8's Avatar
    Thanks

Re: Fuel Pump Problem on 2004 Jetta 1.8T

Could possibly be a crankshaft speed sensor. Also known as an impulse sensor. They are common to fail in the 1.8T and 2.0 engines. Check fault codes using vag com and NOT autozone or a generic scanner. sporadic faults do NOT show up on these scanners. Vag com will show you if there is a malfunction for the crank sensor.