Volkswagen Owners Club Forum banner
3K views 7 replies 3 participants last post by  CarlosA 
#1 ·
Well I took off in my diesel Rabbit the other day, made it a couple of miles down the road and all of a sudden it started to cut out and died. I let off and it would fire back up and run long enough to get back up to speed, then do it over. I pulled off the highway and as I came to a stop on the side of the road it completely died. I sat there and cranked on it for a minute and it fired back up, and ran enough to get home. It acted as if it was running out of fuel, but it was completely full. I'm also not convinced that it's not in the ignition switch/?? somewhere... I'm a pilot not a diesel mechanic... But I also know that these 1.5 diesels are fairly simple... Can anyone help me???

#2 ·
Moving to proper forum.

Well, look for a couple of things.
I would check the fuel shutoff valve, as that is electrical, then look at the fuel feed line from the Filter to the Injection pump. (should be clear) If when the engine is running that is full of air bubbles, then you have a air leak in the fuel system. A big enough bubble stops fuel flow at the injector and will kill an engine.

It is not uncommon for air leaks to happen from no where as you have to remember this car is 33 years young. Old hoses leak and are brittle, and as you are driving they can break...

Reactions: HillbillyAviation
#3 ·
Yeah its real simple, just don`t get discouraged and send the poor thing to the crusher, lol.

Some of the things that have happened to me that are similar:
Air in the fuel lines, if you don`t have a clear line between the pump and the filter, install one - you can use cheap vinyl tubing just for troubleshooting.