Jetta 2011 Sportwagen TDI 6 speed manual stalls on shifting into first gear -- HELP [Archive] - Volkswagen Owners Club Forum |VW Golf / Jetta /Passat /Beetle/EOS/Rabbit/GTI /CC/Bus/Touareg/Tiguan/TDI

: Jetta 2011 Sportwagen TDI 6 speed manual stalls on shifting into first gear -- HELP

Henry Shapiro
12-18-2010, 05:48 PM
I recently bought a 2011 Jetta Sportwagen TDI diesel with a six-speed manual transmission. The car sure seems finicky. I can't tell you how many times I've stalled the car when starting from a dead stop in first gear. I've been driving a stick shift for 25 years and have driven many different makes and models, and I've never had any trouble in the past. If I synch the clutch and the revs just right I don't have a problem, but if I make the slightest error the car is very unforgiving and stalls. I also find that when going around a corner slowly (10 mph) [say, making a right turn onto a residential street from a main street] in second, I'm afraid the car will stall (revs at about 1200) though it hasn't yet. Lastly, if I follow the shifting suggestions on the MFI I often find the car running at very low revs and while it doesn't hesitate or stall, it lacks pep and zip (and I worry it might stall). Has anybody else had these problems? After three weeks I would think I was used to the car, but I'm still stalling on starting from a dead stop occasionally. Suggestions anyone? (I'm beginning to wish I'd gotten the automatic transmission).:(

nitroscope8
12-18-2010, 05:50 PM
It's the nature of it. You need to get used to it or trade it for the DSG. Driving stick for a million years means nothing when driving MODERN GERMAN manual transmissions. Ignore the shifting pattern on the mfi, it's for low fuel consumption only.

chody
01-02-2011, 12:14 PM
i have a 07 2.0 tdi and its flat at low revs and stalled it a few times in the first few weeks going into 2nd at low revs but soon got used to it and it goes like poo off a shovel when pressed

piperpilot